Google’s application privacy policy, even Google’s own people are also confused

This article is transferred from the Lei Feng network. If you need to reprint, please apply to the official website of Lei Feng.

From Google to the internal documentation of the disclosed litigation, their privacy policy, not only the user has not figured out, but even their own engineers are confused.

“The current user interface makes people feel that it is possible to make things possible, but this is difficult to make people can’t understand.” Google employees are in the internal mail disclosed in a working consumer fraud on Friday. Acknowledges that some of their application’s privacy settings are confusing and may generate misleading.

This lawsuit was originally proposed by the General Mark Brnovich of Arizona in May, accused Google’s data collection process violates the state’s “consumer fraud ACT); new information in the unsealed file is also “Arizona Mirror” first reported.

Brnovich and his team wrote in the complaint: “Even if you are Google’s high-level employees don’t understand, Google is to collect location data under what conditions.”

In a 2018 article, an article disclosed in some ways of Google tracked users and deleted these trace permissions, the General Prosecutor’s office began to investigate Google.

At that time, the article showed the Google service to store the location data from the user’s Android device or iPhone. Even if you turn the “location history” to close, some Google applications are still automatically stored and timestamps.

A Google Employee said in today’s documents, he agreed to this report: “Close position” should refer to the closed position, no exception.

The file shows that after the report of the Associated Press, the employees are working behind the scenes, trying to change the user interface, so that Google users easier to choose to share the location. However, a non-famous employee expressed their depression because they thought that their position track was closed, but the result was not.

The published file shows that Google’s privacy policy is carefully designed, allowing the closing of the location tracking, actually using another Google application location tracking information.

This unknown employee said: “My understanding is that if you approve this way of use, there is currently no thing to stop a Google product (a) from using another Google product (B) record.” He said, ” In fact, the emergence of our iconic privacy policy is largely in order to support the use of product data. “

Google said that it is working with the total procurator-General of Arizona, providing documents and answered questions from the investigators.

Google spokesperson Jose Castaneda said: “Privacy control has already integrated into our service, and our team has been constantly discussing and improving.”

He said, “In terms of location information, we listened to feedback and strive to improve. In fact, even the summary of these picks clearly shows that the team’s goal is to reducing the confusion of location history settings’.”

Google hides an extra location setting in “Network and Application Activity”, which caused anger. This behavior eventually leads to Google to improve its privacy. Some small changes in the past few years eventually lead to Google’s current policy, that is, automatically delete the location and search history of new users. The current user still needs to access their activity control pages to change their settings.

However, although Google has made changes, it is clear that there are still many things to do. The documents of the Arizona proceedings clearly show the confusion of users.

For example, Google provides personalized advertisements for users, part of the location data for personalized advertisements. Indeed, by turning off a setting to close ads Personalization, this complaint thinks this does not prevent Google from providing advertisements according to your location, it simply means that Google will assume you within a 3 km range Instead of using your exact GPS location on the map.

More importantly, closing this setting obviously does not change another advertising service DoubleClick of Google, which is used to display advertisements on other websites. Removing location information from these ads requires a different user interface, Google will still lock users using universal location information.

Complaint said that DoubleClick settings cannot be changed to Google Advertising Personalization:

“A user thinks that you choose not to receive an advertisement based on your own location, Google still has two-piece things: First, Google still provides location-based advertisements (based on users’ approximate location); Second, these practices have spoof Sex and unfair, Google makes users can’t truly exit the collected location information. “